Skip to content

Reflections On The Tragedy In Paris

November 19, 2015

I’ll say it- I can’t even THINK about money as I watch the traumatic events of the last 6 days unfold in Paris (and beyond).champs elesyee

A good friend returned from her Paris getaway just a few days before the despicable acts of terror. What is she thinking? Was she close to the stadium, concert hall or cafes affected?

How does one move forward after experiencing or witnessing such a tragedy and loss of life? I can only hope that money is the last thing on the minds of the citizens of Paris and their loved ones. If it isn’t, it should be.

Life unfolds in ways that are hard to imagine

Tragic events remind of us of what’s really important (and it definitely isn’t money). It’s the many things we take for granted day in and day out. A beautiful sunny day, a walk in the park, children laughing and playing, a visit with an old friend. I want to remember these words next time I fret about my own, seemingly small problems.

Hope For The Best, Plan For The Worst

You can bet the citizens of Paris never thought in their wildest dreams that such unspeakable things could happen to them. Who would?

Obviously, planning for horrific events is neither feasible nor imaginable. However, taking care of the “basics” in advance can make a difference in our ability to cope and bounce back from adversity when it strikes.

For me, the “basics” are things like paying attention to my mental/physical health, family/relationships, managing risks and yes, even my financial resources. Having my finances in “good working order” allows me to sleep better, worry less and focus on things (expected or unexpected) that matter most!

My heart (and head) is with Paris this week and I think it will be for quite some time.

 

Proud founder of this blog Let’s Talk About Money, Patricia Gass, CPA, CA, provides personal finance coaching and education to improve your money skills. Follow her on linkedin, twitter or pinterest.

Photo: One of my own, favourite paintings- Artist Rendition of The Champs Elysees

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

