Skip to content

Might Another Set Of Eyes Be Your Ticket To Financial Success?

September 30, 2015

I have a little voice in my head sometimes that I wish would keep quiet!racoon eyes

It reminds me about the things I don’t know or I’m not very good at; cooking, fixing almost anything that’s broken around my house or navigating driving directions in a new city.

It’s hard to accept and admit what we don’t know (or aren’t good at). Especially when everyone else already knows what we don’t! Or we think they do so we feel even worse that this knowledge has somehow escaped us. Better to just keep quiet and carry on, right? WRONG – I know I don’t need to tell you that!

Many people feel this way about their personal finances and I’d really like to change that. One family at a time. I get it; it’s not easy but I won’t stop trying.

I’m passionate and pretty good with personal finances (sorry for the bragging)! But I’m also the first to admit that there’s plenty I don’t know too. Learning about money is a lifelong job.

Isn’t it easier to give advice rather than take it? Have I really covered off my own “financial blind spots” (and managed my own emotions) as well as I could have? Just like the pieces of a puzzle, the components of my own plan (and your’s too) must fit together properly to be the best they can be.

I’m FINALLY taking my own advice to heart (that which I seem to give so easily to others).

I’m getting a second opinion on my own finances and I couldn’t be happier! I won’t lie- it’s also incredibly scary. What if I find out I’m not doing as well as I think I am? Will I need to change my lifestyle – the one I’ve become so accustomed to?

Stay tuned for an update. I promise to tell you the real bottom line (good, bad & ugly) and what I learn about my own finances during the process. Learning from others is the BEST– especially if you can avoid their expensive mistakes!

Special thanks to Amy Jo Lauber, a fellow finance professional, for the inspiration for today’s post. Her blog is fabulous- have a look whenever you have a chance; LIFE: Live Inspired, Financially Empowered

Related Posts:

How A Wave Of Emotions Can Derail The Best Laid Plans

Tackling Personal Finance- Do You Know What You Don’t Know?

Is Financial Advice What A Client Really Wants?

Proud founder of this blog Let’s Talk About Money, Patricia Gass, CPA, CA, provides personal finance coaching and education to improve your money skills. Follow her on linkedin, twitter or pinterest.

4 Comments
  1. I think that’s exciting and incredibly smart to get a second set of eyes to review your situation. I am sure you’ll be just fine but imagine how good you’ll feel when you have that confirmation!

  2. Thanks for the shout out Patricia! We’re all doing what we can to improve our corner of the world.

  3. So true! Money has always been a hard topic for me to discuss. Even with my Ma! However, this summer I began working on becoming finically independent and as I read more about personal finance, it is becoming easier to have the ‘money talks’ with her. She is my second pair of eyes when it comes to my financial success, so I agree that having a second opinion really improves my knowledge and decisions.

    • Many people have trouble talking about money but it gets easier with practice. Always great to have your Mom in your corner! Ask her about her own money mistakes (we all have them) and what she wished she knew about money when she was your age.

Leave a Reply

