Skip to content

A “Feel Good” Story To Make Every Dollar Count

February 18, 2015

On this cold, blustery February day, as I spend some quality time with my computer, I can’t help but share a happy experience that I witnessed last Saturday.young couple walking

It was wonderfully touching, brought a smile to my face and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. Maybe it will do the same for you?

The Story

It was Valentines Day and I was browsing for an unrelated gift at the jewellery counter of a local department store. Some good sales were on and the “smart shopper” in me was hoping to find a great deal for a good friend. As I scanned the merchandise, I noticed a cute, young couple deep in conversation with an attentive sales rep. All of a sudden, the woman shrieked and jumped up and down with delight as the sales rep located the exact bracelet she had been searching for.

Now, just so you know, this bracelet was not made of diamonds, gold or other precious stones. I had been eyeing it too in another colour as a possible purchase for my friend. The bracelet was lovely but definitely modest and simple by most people’s standards.

I revelled at the way this young woman was on top of the world. She told me they had been to many stores looking for this exact piece but had had no luck. She was “over the moon” excited and kissed her boyfriend at least a dozen times. Needless to say, he had an ear to ear smile on his face. As he paid for the bracelet, we chatted some more. It was special how thrilled she was and many nearby shoppers had noticed her too.

When their purchase was complete, the young woman profusely thanked the sales rep and wished her an amazing Valentine’s Day. As the couple practically skipped away, I saw many of my fellow shoppers watching with smiles on their faces.

The Lesson

Ahhhhh, the joys of young love!

I racked my brain to think of a similar experience in my own past when I had felt that way after buying just the right gift for myself or someone else. Isn’t that how we all should feel when we spend our dollars on the right things? So often, out of boredom, necessity, habit or some other nondescript feeling, we spend money without ever appreciating or noticing.

If you’re not getting the satisfaction you deserve from your hard-earned dollars, please rethink the choices you’re making. Does a more expensive purchase really bring more happiness? Cut back on the stuff you don’t care about so you can leave room for the stuff you do! Spending on things you care about, whatever they are, really matters.

I will remember the young woman for quite some time. I hope and suspect she’ll get many years of happiness from her beautiful bracelet (and boyfriend)!!

Related Posts

Tips To Take Charge Of Your Spending

Is There A Right Or Wrong Way To Spend?

Proud founder of this blog Let’s Talk About Money, Patricia Gass, CPA, CA, provides personal finance coaching and education to improve your money skills. Follow her on linkedin, twitter or pinterest

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

