Skip to content

Everyone Needs A Money Mentor

July 29, 2014

Mentorship is all the rage these days for career and life success. And rightly so. Having someone help, support and believe in you can make all the difference in the world.

????????????????????????????????????????You might accomplish things you never expected. Having a “cheerleader” in your corner can mean the difference between success and failure.

What areas in your life do you have (or have you had) a mentor? 

For me, two examples come to mind. Early in my corporate career, a respected and talented boss made a big difference to my success. Under his leadership and encouragement, I achieved promotions and results I didn’t think possible. Today, as I recover from a winter shoulder injury, my physiotherapist is my favourite “health mentor”. Without her, I would not be as motivated, educated or skilled in my return to a fully functional shoulder (and golf swing)!

Expertise takes years to develop. The value of a mentor who can cultivate your missing skills one-on-one in real time, reduce anxiety in taking big steps and focus on achieving your goals is huge.

Mentoring can be incredibly rewarding and satisfying for the mentor; not just the mentee. Learning is a two-way street. For example, as I age, I recognize how wonderful it is to be around young people. My kids and their friends have an honest and refreshing take on life that my generation could use more of. And, my technology skills continue to benefit greatly!

When it comes to personal finance, even those with strong money skills and knowledge don’t always take action or make smart money decisions. A money mentor can help you GET and STAY on the right track.

Do You Have A Money Mentor?, by Jim Yih, is a great article emphasizing the benefits of money mentoring.

Why not improve your financial skills today by finding yourself a money mentor? Chances are, whoever you choose will feel honoured and happy to help!

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

Maya Angelou

PS- My door is always open; I would be thrilled to help!

Photo courtesy of beafunmum.com 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

