Skip to content

Reflections From A Vacation Gone Wrong

March 5, 2014

Daily life, as you know it, can change in a flash. Will you be ready for the snow storm when it arrives?SnowStorm

Last week, while vacationing with friends in beautiful Utah, it did for me. One minute, I was enjoying the sun on my face and wind in my hair while skiing down a beautifully groomed, black diamond ski run. The next minute, I found myself flying through the air, somersaulting hard and rolling to the base of the hill. It was day 3 of a 7 day ski vacation (at least not day 1). At the moment of first impact, I knew my skiing was over.

The accident is still a blur- I have no idea what happened or what I could have done to change the outcome. I am a cautious, relatively decent and controlled skier who knows her limitations well. I almost never tackle a run I know I can’t do. But sooner or later, stuff happens and it’s good to be as ready as you can be (financially speaking, of course).

The care I received was excellent and I consider myself very lucky. A dislocated and fractured right shoulder is not something I would wish on my worst enemy. Golf season will have to wait. However, my own experience, while painful, was so much better than that of some others. I was fortunate to have out of country medical coverage (something I had never used before, and frankly, something I may not have bought if I didn’t already have it through my husband’s employer). I also had enough emergency funds in my bank account to pay my medical bills on the spot.

Money is the last thing I would have wanted to think about at the time of my accident. Some of my fellow patients were not so lucky. According to my husband, a young man and young woman were brought into the clinic just after me. In the midst of their own pain, both were panicking because they had no health insurance and could not afford their recommended care. The man was told he needed surgery but that was completely out of the question. I have no idea what choices these young people eventually made. But, I do know that when your health is at stake, nothing else matters. I would have paid anything to feel better sooner rather than later.

If you are one of the many people without health care coverage or a basic emergency fund, take some time to rethink those decisions. Affordable health care options exist if you do your research and know what you’re willing/not willing to risk or to pay for. The last thing you need is to be worried about money when your health is on the line.

PS- one-handed typing isn’t much fun either!

2 Comments
  1. I’m very sorry about your accident, I hope that you make a speedy recovery.

    It’s very good that you had insurance, and an emergency fund.

  2. Thanks for your kind words! When you need them, the true value of health insurance and an emergency fund is priceless!

Leave a Reply

