Skip to content

5 Reasons Why I LOVE Being A Financial Coach/Advisor

January 28, 2014

Do you think it’s important to love what you do?  different

Sure, we can all do work that we dislike for a period of time for many reasons i.e. to pay the bills, advance our careers, support our families etc. But, ultimately, there comes a time when we might change what we’re doing for greater enjoyment.

It’s taken me awhile to realize just how important this is to me.

There is no true “standard” of what a financial advisor really is or does. The term is used quite broadly by many organizations and individuals including banks, insurance and investment companies, consultants and independent professionals. Sometimes, a sales motive can trump an objective opinion on personal finances which is NEVER in the best interests of a client. It’s really “buyer beware” when it comes to searching for a financial advisor to meet your own unique needs.

Nevertheless, my own definition of a financial coach is; a trained finance professional who will help you learn knowledge, skills and confidence to manage your money wisely. A coach’s primary role is to help each client meet their goals with the money they have.

Here’s what I love most about what I do.

1) No two clients are alike, no two days are alike, no two tasks are alike– Sure there are similarities but every day is an adventure. A wonderful combination of meeting new people, learning what they need, figuring out how to help them, creating plans or recommendations, crunching data or making sense of it. Tasks can be simple like reviewing expenses or more complex like preparing retirement or savings projections. For me, variety is the spice of life!

2) The better you know your clients, the more you can help them– For most people, money is a means to an end- a tool to live life the way they want to. Financial advice is useless unless it’s tailored to meet a person’s goals. Coming up with money strategies that will work for clients is critical. Whether it means how to save more, how to budget better, how to reduce debt or taxes, my challenge is to figure out what will work best for my clients.

3) Helping people get smarter with money is my passion– Money skills and knowledge were not taught in school yet are critical to a happy and successful life. Most people have learned money skills over time from their families, maybe friends or through trial and error. Personal finance education should be life long learning. I believe that most people, including myself, can always learn better money skills to achieve their goals.

4) Using my training, skills and experience matters to me– From business school, through obtaining my chartered accountant designation to over 24 years as a finance professional in corporate Canada, I learned a lot about money. Listening to and learning from the expertise of other professionals, both inside and outside the world of money, is important to me. I love to invest and consider it a hobby (especially growing my investments!) and use both an investment advisor and a DIY approach. Believe it or not, I read personal finance books for fun! Call me boring but I love this stuff! It’s lucky someone does, right?!

5) My job doesn’t feel like like work– When I’m doing this work, I get lost in the moment. There is no better feeling. Helping people understand their personal finances is what I was born to do.

If you or someone you know is looking for a financial coach/advisor, I would be honoured to have you contact me (see contact page on my blog).

Stay tuned for next week’s post on how to find the RIGHT financial coach or advisor for you.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

